Wake. Up.

Recent books i’ve been reading, coupled with the Amanda Todd story, has driven me to write this.

I do expect to be flamed for what I am about to say, but meh, if you would like to chat to me about my theology/philosophy on this, feel free to do so in private (message/text/face to face/ whatever)

If you dont know yet, here is Amanda Todd’s story

Her video wasnt really of a cry against bullying, it was a cry for a saviour. For Love, for acknowledgement, for affirming who she is.

“I hear everything. You wrote that the world doesn’t need a savior, but every day I hear people crying for one.” ~Superman in Superman Returns

While Superman is a fictional character, I believe that my God hears the same cry, and He IS the saviour that she, that everyone, is really crying for.
You may ask where is God in this story? Why didnt he do anything to love her? To save her?
The answer, is simple, maybe His children did not hear the same cry, or just plain ignored His promptings.

If i have read my bible correctly. She has not moved on to a ‘better’ life, but rather, a life that is eternally damned. (this is the part where i’m going to get flamed)

AND that should be alarming.

This was a soul craving for only what God can give. Unconditional Love, Acceptance of who she is, a life of abundance. Not an abundance in wealth/health/job security. But abundance in community, in love, in mercy, in grace, in righteousness.
But now, a soul lost.

Where were the Christians in this story? In her sphere?
I dont have an answer, but i want to make a comment for Christians in general:

Why are Christians so ineffective?
I’m going to borrow Francis Chan’s illustration:

Imagine we are all caterpillars, just crawling around, sleep and eat leaves. One day, some of us takes a long nap, and when we wake up, “WTF, I have wings.” Now, that’s what Christians are like, we are transformed through the power of Christ that lives in us, by the Holy Spirit. We can continue to crawl around and eat leaves and never flap those wings. In fact, that is exactly what most of us do: We simply REFUSE to fly.
Taking that a bit further, if we never fly, why would any of the other caterpillars ever want to ‘evolve’ (so to speak)? Crawling around eating leaves… doesnt look too different if you are a butterfly or caterpillar. In fact, i would see no point for me to partake in that long nap if all i do is claim to be a little different. But not really.

Wake Up, or burn.
(yep, i’m likely getting flamed here too, but read on)

That was for ‘christians’
You see, a LOT of us have that label “Christian” But also a lot of us are not really Christians.

In Revelations 3:16, the famous lukewarm illustration.

“So, because you are lukewarm–neither hot nor cold–I am about to spit you out of my mouth.”

To be spit out of God’s mouth… that doesnt seem like a ‘saved Christian’ to me.

Also Matt 7:21-23

“Not everyone who says to me, ‘Lord, Lord,’ will enter the kingdom of heaven, but only he who does the will of my Father who is in heaven. Many will say to me on that day, ‘Lord, Lord, did we not prophesy in your name, and in your name drive out demons and perform many miracles?’ Then I will tell them plainly, ‘I never knew you. Away from me, you evildoers!’”

I’ve always thought, “ya, not every ‘christian’ are going to make it, look at all the posers!”
But this… is beyond alarming. The hardest word for me to swallow here is
many
MANY will say?
What?
MANY?
So… more than half?

or more?

How many is ‘many’?
Really, i dont know, I cant tell you if you are saved or not, its really between you and God.
But verses like “Faith without works is dead” “I can do anything, but if i have not love, i am nothing” “If you love me, obey my commands” “What you do onto the least you do onto me” rushes to my mind.

Wake up, John, Wake up

Do not deceive yourself.
For the road is narrow, and the gates to hades is wide.
There is no salvation apart from the full surrender in Christ.

But God will make shine the road of the righteous, until the fullnes of day.

And dont forget the Amanda Todds in your sphere. You may be the last line of defense against an eternally lost soul.

In closing, i would like to share 2 songs:
People need the Lord.

Hosanna

This is my prayer for You, and for myself:
That we will really feel the grief of the Holy Spirit, that what breaks HIS heart will break our heart, to see and love the people around us as we have been and continue to be loved.

I leave you with the love of the One who holds the world together, yet bent over backwards to die a brutal death on a tree. So that He can claim victory in YOUR life, and to call you His beloved.

In Christ & Beloved.

~John

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

