Interruption

A while back I was saying that God really threw a curveball, now I would like to talk about it a bit more without going into detail of what it actually was, but you guys are smart, you can probably figure it out. 😛

It was something that I had really thought was God’s plan and God’s timing that occurred, but it turned out to be not so. As I was working through the emotions and the spiritual implications, one verse that really moved me was Job 6:10, it reads:

Then I would still have this consolation – my joy in unrelenting pain – that I had not denied the words of the Holy One.

It was a weird versed to be comforted by, IMO, but it worked. The thing is… it wasn’t even a pain that was unrelenting because I realize that in the grand scheme of things, it is but a minor setback and I truly believed that my God who had been faithful thus far will continue to be faithful.

That being said, being caught in the middle was still not a pleasant experience, and I wondered why it was allowed to happen. I was completely ok with not having it, what annoyed me was that it occurred for a short month then ended.

I think I now know why, in the words of Chuck Swindle as he shared why God allowed some things in his life to happen: “To show how much further I have left to go.” To show that I had made an idol out of it; to show that I had desired it more than I desired God, even when I thought it was something that I was able to glorify God on; to interrupt a life that was on autopilot; to show that He is worth so much more than an autonomous life.

But that’s not all, God did not give me all these spiritual implications without dealing with my emotions first. I was first comforted by the phrase, ‘this is not the end of the story.’ Not only through my own time with Him, but the same idea kept coming up as I was sharing with my close peers: that it was not the end of the story.

How this story is going to play out, I do not know. But one thing I do know is that the God who had been faithful will remain faithful, there is no shadow of turning within the God of infinite love and infinite holiness.

Realizing that God’s best is always worth waiting for. This story is worth waiting for.

~John

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

